1974-1975 Vikings Hockey Team

1974-1975 Vikings Hockey Team

In 1974/75, the Vikings hockey team – made up of future farmers, teachers and pastors out of a school of 390 students – won the first Canadian Colleges Athletic Association hockey championships in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

The win on the national stage paved the way for a season played in Europe, and then the inaugural 1981 Viking Cup hockey tournament in Camrose. The small, rural Alberta community hosted teams from across the United States and Europe for 25 years until its final medal ceremony in 2006.

The team made history. In 2009, the 1974/75 Vikings were inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame.

Dr. Rodney Lee
Mr. Tom Gould
Mr. Larry Stuart
Mr. Russ Shandro
Mr. Lee Cumberland
Mr. Phil Irwin
Mr. Joe Miller
Mr. Daryl Runka
Rev. Pete Hanson
Mr. Bob Large
Rev. Harley Johnson
Mr. Lynn Getz
Mr. Dennis Dunn
Mr. Morley Dunlop
Mr. John Danko
Mr. Sven Green
Mr. Elston Solberg
Mr. Don Boyce
Mr. Gary Fortier
Mr. Ken Alackson
Mr. Bill Andreassen

Mr. Joe Voytechek (Coach)

Mr. LeRoy Johnson (Manager)
Rev. Dennis Becker (Equipment Manager)
Rev. Karl Faltin (Trainer)
Mr. Jim Voytechek (Stick Boy)

The mission of the Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame is to honour and recognize individuals and teams and their contributions to the university, community and the different sports they represent.  The inaugural Wall of fame dinner was held September 8th at the Convocation Centre at the University of Alberta—Augustana Campus.

Honoured as an inaugural Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee in 2012.